Subdivisions #071 feat. James Kumo

Howdy Technohouse Citizens! We are excited to present the Subdivision Global Radio Show 070. This episode features a guest mix from James Kumo from K-Music, Autoreply, Curle Recordings, Manchester, the UK. Hour one features music from Mark Henning, Soulkids, The Synthetigers, Andrea Fissore, Chelonis R. Jones, Fab Code, Alex Costa, Tom Taylor & Gareth Whitehead feat. Robert Owens, GarcyNoise, Adam Antine, Rodriguez Jr. and many more!

A Bit about James Kumo:


James Kumo has produced a string of synth driven techno of the highest caliber to the dance floor. First appearing for Amsterdam’s Delsin Records offshoot Ann Aimee, Kumo delivered Kumomusic Vol 1 as his debut production, back in 2008.

‘Fluid’ a beautifully hypnotic house number, with seamless metallic percussion looped throughout, ‘Koma’, more low key as it presented a stripped down, 100bpm electronic chugger, whereas ’45 Days’ brought Kumo’s darker side into frame, with a synthline heavy stomper aimed directly for the dance floor.

Kumomusic Vol 2 followed shortly bringing ‘Dreams ’ & ‘Alphawave’ a staggered flow of kick-driven rhythms, powerfully hypnotic and relentless synthlines which touched with a retro-acidic feel much like Redshape but also given a sheen of up-to-date production that sounds stunning on a big system.These two releases were heavily supported by international DJ’s, ranging from François K, Laurent Garnier, Radioslave, to Marcel Dettman, Ben Klock, Josh Wink, Rolando and many more.

It were these releases which caught the attention of long standing US producer, and now Berlin based, Dan Curtin, signing Kumo’s services in 2009for his Metamorphic Recordings imprint. ‘The Deep’, a slow burning tripper of the highest order, coming from the same school as Jeff Mills on a pedigree techno groove rubbed with the right amount of dark funk and space-head synth line ephemera. On the flip came, ‘Space Dancer’, another massively crafty groove marrying old-skool techno-house rhythm with mind meltingly lush chord sequences.

Again, this release came with full support from a host of international DJ’s, particurly given Dan Curtin lent himself for remix duty, laying down a Detroit style house mix of ‘Space Dancer’

In mid 2010, came a release on Belgium’s Curle Recordings, entitled ‘The Rex EP’, featuring two tracks, ‘Coming Home’ a deep house track which was included in Poker Flat head honcho, Steve Bug’s ‘Green and Blue’ mix CD, for Berlin’s Cocoon Recordings, on the flip was ‘Back At The Rex’, a Detroit inspired techno track, similar to recent releases by Rolando, which again, like his previous ventures gained support from some of the worlds leading electronic DJ’s, old and new.

Other than his own projects, Kumo has seen him remix Franco Cangellis My Electronic Soul”, for Italian label, Self Defence Records. Kumo stamps a hypnotic deep house sound, using sub basses layered with the main repetitive riff slightly fluctuating throughout the track, creating a unique presence. Whereas a melancholic pad gives the whole an emotional almost soul- searching feel.

Meanwhile, amongst his busy production schedule, Kumo has been focussing heavily on his collaboration project, ‘Ku.Bo’, where with fellow techno producer, Roberto Bosco, the duo, remixing Sebastian Roya’s ‘Distancias de Noche’ which dropped in March 2011, on Connaissier Recordings CINQ compilation, part of their 5th year anniversary celebrations. Ku.Bo have two EPs lined up for Self Defence Records, and Ireland’s Electrico Bastardo.

Other projects in 2011 have included, EP’s for Berlin based Falkplatz Records entitled “Walking Into Space EP”, and more notably the aunch of his own electronic digital label, [K:Music]. The first EP for [K:Music] featured tracks from Kumo himself, along with Berlin’s Oliver Deutschmann (Falkplatz/Vidab) on remix duty, following this was be a belter of an EP from Berlin’s David Hausdorf, entitled “Funky Phasor EP”. Other artists to release on Kumo’s [K:Music], was an EP by Belgium based Ozka, called “Snow Squad EP” also featuring Kumo on remix duty. Keep an eye out for future releases.

Subdivisions Global Radio Show #071 featuring James Kumo: (right click to download)

Subdivisions #071 Track Listing: 

(click tracks to listen)

Merlyn Martin (Hour One)

Artist, Title, Label

1. Mark Henning – Chicago Sunrise – Afrilounge Back2Basic Mix – City Fox

2. Soulkids – Sunshine (Original Mix) – Young Society

3. The Synthetigers – I Like It (Original Mix) – Mirrorball Records

4. Andrea Fissore – New Destination  – Menomale Music

5. Chelonis R. Jones – I Don’t Know (Butch Remix V1) MASTER – Get Physical Music

6. Fab Code – Soulfood (Metodi Hristov Remix) – Bonzai Basic

7. Alex Costa – All Cap (Original Mix) – Alchemy Rec

8. Tom Taylor & Gareth Whitehead feat. Robert Owens – I Came To Dance (Original Mix) – Lost My Dog

9. GarcyNoise – She’s Got It (Original Mix) – Piston Recordings

10. Adam Antine – Senior Soul (Deas & Lubica Remix) – Nueva Digital

11. Rodriguez Jr.  – Satellite – Mobilee 


James Kumo (Hour Two) 

Artist, Title, Label

1. Claro Intelecto – Reformed – Delsin

2. Decoside – Reload 4 – Eclipse Music

3. Komponente – Slow song – Biatch Corp

4. Samaan – Commodore – Fullbarr

5. AnD – Brother From Another Mother (Tom Dicicco Late Night Dub) – Project Squared

6. Perseus Traxx – Coded Emotion – MOS

7. Komponente – Slow Song  (Falko Brocksieper Remix) – Biatch Corp

8. Subsignal – Channel (The Parallel Mix) – Signal Code 

9. Soy Mustafa – Bipolars Revenge (John Beltran Winter Mix) – Cinematic Label

10.Danny Ocean – Life Cycles – Opilec Music

11. Roberto Bosco – I Just Can’t Breathe – FigureSPC

12. Klartraum – Kazandub (Lokua Rmx) – Lucidflow


Track of the Week as mentioned and heard at end of broadcast:

*Lee Van Dowski – Not A Remix – Kling Klong  


Outro Track:

Glittering Puzzle –  Hold On  – Nueva Digital



Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on StumbleUponshare on TumblrEmail to someone