Subdivisions #060 feat Mijk Van Dijk

Howdy Technohouse Citizens! Welcome to Subdivisions episode 060 featuring a guest mix from Mijk van Dijk from Nufunk File Records, Berlin, Germany. Hour one features tracks from David Keno, The Electronuts, Ceri, Robot Needs Oil,  T.W.I.C.E, Tiger Stripes, Hakan Ludvigson,  Eoin Brennan,  Jessie Rivera, Someone Else, Motor and many many more!

A bit about Mijk Van Dijk:


Never mind the past – here’s Mijk van Dijk at last!

After some years of silence and only occasional releases, now since summer 2006 Mijk van Dijk is paving his way back into the second term of his career. His releases on labels such as International DeeJay Gigolo Recordings, Big & Dirty, Kling Klong and BluFin are again landmarks in electronic music and yet breathe the spirit of his best works in the 90s.

Mijk created new alter egos like “Plato”, whose “Bass erstaunt-EP” won fans worldwide. The new Plato “Wanderlust-EP” has just been released on Big & Dirty Records.

This autumn, Mijk will release a string of new releases on labels such as International DeeJay Gigolo Recordings, Frisbee,  BluFin and Gastspiel.

Some stories from the attic

Back in the days, Mijk van Dijk recorded some of the first techno records out of Berlin and helped to pave the way for our music as a journalist, producer and DJ from Day One. He has been producing some of the hardest and fastest techno tunes ever with DJ Tanith and on his own with his project „LoopZone“. He has been a pioneer  for a new  sound called „Trance“ back in 1992 when he worked  with Cosmic Baby  on the probably  first Trance/ Chillout-Compilation ever: „Tranceformed From Beyond“ on MFS-Records.  In those days he wrote tunes like Marmion’s „Schoeneberg“ and  Microglobe’s „High On Hope“, „Environ-mentality“ and „All Our Colours“, that became classics of Techno. In the lyrics of his first artist album „Afreuropamericasiaustralica“ he  focussed focussing on issues like preservation of the environment, global warming, frictions between cultural groups and religions, well, basically all the issues, we are talking about right now.As one of the main artists of legendary record label Superstition he also wrote the final chapter of this  Hamburg based imprint by mixing the bastard techno mix CD „Decade“, the final Superstition release in 2003.

Full Two Hour Subdivisions Global Radio Show #060 featuring Mijk van Dijk: (click to download)


Subdivision #060 Track Listing: 

(click links to listen) 

Merlyn Martin (Hour One)

Artist, Title, Label

1. David Keno – Cyrus – Kindisch

2. The Electronuts – Afrotisiakum (Bla Bla Bla Remix) –  Club Green

3. Ceri – No Boundaries (Original Mix) – Midnight Social Recordings

4. Robot Needs Oil – The Gas Lamp (Original Mix)- Fruit Machine

5. T.W.I.C.E – Time To Freak (Santos Resiak Remix) – Flumo Recordings

6. Tiger Stripes – Glorified (Lights Down Low Dub) – Audiomatique Recordings 

7. Hakan Ludvigson – Goodbye feat. Coni (Inkfish Remix) – Club Stream

8. Eoin Brennan – People Power (Original Mix) – Kinky Digital 

9. Jessie Rivera – Be Cool – Deep Hype Sounds

10. Charlie Banks – Saying What – Dirt Crew

11. Someone Else – Pillowface (M.in feat. Chriss Vogt Deep Remix)   – Get Physical Music

12. Dj Nibc & Patrick L feat Andreas Cavaco – Call Me (Tiger Stripes Remix) – Trunk Funk

13. MIjangos_ – Saxmania (DJ Jeremy_ Tb Dirty Music Rmx) – 76 Recordings

14. Motor – Man Made Machine feat, Martin Gore (Radio Slave Remix) – CLR 


Mijk van Dijk (Hour Two)

Artist, Title, Label

1. Tim Deluxe – Transformation – Get Human

2. Phil Kieran & Green Velvet – Free Yourself (Out Of Control-Mix) – Phil Kieran Recordings

3. Russ Gabriel – Ginger Pussy (Dave Angel Rework) – Artform

4. Daso – Follow Me – Flash

5. Nic Fanciulli – Caller ID (Radio Slave Remix) – Saved

6. Midnight Magic – Drop Me A Line (Steffi Remix) – Permanent Vacation

7. Funk D’Void – Counter Cat (Ken Ishii Dub Mix) – Outpost

8. Robag Wruhme – Donnerkuppel – Kompakt

9. Mijk van Dijk – Anticipation – Frisbee

10. Julio Bashmore – Battle For Middle You – PMR

11. Tigerskin – Spread – Greenhorn

12. Martin Eyerer – Bells A Go – Kling Klong

13. Pele – Nothing Else – Cocoon

14. Head High – It’s A Love Thing (Sigg Gonzalez Remix)  – 542

15. Mijk van Dijk – Ebony – BluFin

additional vocals: Charlie Chaplin- The Great Dictator’s Final Speech

additional percussion: Native Instruments Maschine




Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on StumbleUponshare on TumblrEmail to someone